Rachel Adler
radler@uci.edu
Political Science


Benjamin Aaron
baaron@uci.edu
catharsix@gmail.com
Visual Studies


Chima Anyadike-Danes
canyadik@uci.edu
Anthropology
Research interests focus on the place, and identity, making practices of the Mongolian diaspora in Los Angeles


Cherish Bolton 
cherishbolton@gmail.com
History
Study the British Empire in South Asia during the 19th and 20th centuries, specifically culture and identitiy formation in pre-independence India


Colin Cahill
colin.w.cahill@gmail.com
Anthropology
Medical and cultural politics in Southeast Asia


Aleksandra (Leksa) Chmielewski
achmiele@uci.edu
Anthropology
Museum representation, history and memory, new media, consumption and class, China and the US.


Eun-Ah Cho
eunahc@uci.edu
East Asian Languages & Literature
Eun-Ah has specific interests in Korean literature during post-liberation period. She is focusing on bilingual problems rising within post-coloonial intellectuals, dealing with critical theories of translation, language-imperialism, and post-colonialism.


Hyonhui Choe
hyonhuic@uci.edu
East Asian Languages & Literature
Hyonhui Choe's specialized field is modern Korean literature in colonial period. He is working on Korean literary critics and historians whose academic backgrounds are based on Keijo Imperial University. This project evolves around multi-layered theoretical issues, such as collaboration with colonialism or fascism and the discursive tension between politics/ethics and aesthetics/literature. He is also interested in literary modernism, post-colonialism, translation theories, and psychoanalytical theories.


Matthew Chudnow
mchudnow@uci.edu
East Asian Languages & Literature
Matthew's field of specialization is medieval Japanese literature and religion. His research focus is on political, religious, and gender issues in late Muromachi period noh theatre. He is also interested in Heian peiod literature, classical Chinese poetry, Japanese Buddhism, shamanism, ritual and performance, modern erotic-grotesque fiction, and history.


Matt Combs
mtcombs@uci.edu
History
Matt's research explores the intersection of imperialism and technology in East Asia as seen in the colonial production of camphor and its use in plastics, photographic film, and gunpowder.


Jessica Conte
jconte@uci.edu
East Asian Languages and Literature
Jessica's interests include post-liberation Korean literature and comparative studies of trauma, madness, (post) colonialism, and theories of translation. She is currently looking at the work of contemporary film director Park Chan-wook and its relationship to tragedy, biopower, nihilism, and late capitalism.


Maura Cunningham  
History
maura.cunningham@uci.edu
Modern China, particularly 19th-20th century; urban history; transportation and communications networks


Brian Denny
briansdenny@gmail.com
Political Science
Research interests focus on Modern China and include adaptive governance relating to social movements and changes in Chinese civil society.


Cheryl Deutsch 
cdeutsch@uci.edu
Anthropology
Marketing and the market, privatized spaces of consumption, street vendors and super markets, the idea of the informal economy, social movements and NGO's, gender in contemporary India


Sonia Desai
smdesai@uci.edu
Drama


Laurie Dickmeyer
ldickmey@uci.edu
History
Although US history is my first field of sudy, I am interested in early US trade relations with China.


Andrew Duncan
andrew.duncan@uci.edu
Sociology


Vivian Eng
veng@uci.edu
History
My interests are 20th century Chinese diaspora and transnational migration.


Elsa Fan 

fane@uci.edu
Anthropology
Elsa Fan is currently a third-year graduate student in anthropology. Her research interests focus on HIV/AIDS in China in terms of governance, citizenship and humanitarianism and the different opportunities/tensions enabled through AIDS.


Yunxiang Gao
yunxiang@uci.edu
Music
Pipa. Integrated Composition, Improvisation, and Technology


Josh Gellers
jgellers@uci.edu
Political Science
I study environmental rights in South Asia


Padma Govindan
govindan@uci.edu
Anthropology
My interests and research: human trafficking and anti-trafficking efforts, the US and India, human righgs, American volunteerism, the anthropology of social movements, gender sexuality


Amy Grubb
agrubb@uci.edu
Political Science


Tiffany Hong
tiffany.hong@uci.edu
East Asian Languages & Literature


Kim Icreverzi 
kicrever@uci.edu
Comparative Literature
Japanese Cinema


Laura Beltz Imaoka
limaoka@uci.edu
Visual Studies
My research analyzes geographic informatin systems as commercial media platforms, along with their geo-literacy value and use during global media events such as the Fukushima/East Japan Disaster.


Eun Hae Jeong 
ehjeong@uci.edu
Anthropology
Eun Hae Jeong is currently studying reproductive technologies in South Korea. She is specifically interested in the production and use of genetic knowledge in reproductive technologies, as well in the field of adoption. Her broader interests include the development of genetic science and bioethics in South Korea.


Robert (Robbie) Kett
rkett@uci.edu
Anthropology


Elizabeth Kim
ekim330@gmail.com
Psychology and Social Behavior
My research interests include the cross-cultural study of children's conformity to others, particularly with regard to collectivist cultures.


Dan Knorr
dknorr@uci.edu
History


Yimin Lai
ylai5@uci.edu
Anthropology

__________________________________________________________________________________

Wayne Lalicon
wlalicaon@uci.edu
Political Science
I would like to conduct research that will illuminate the substantial social, political, and economic transnational linkages between the Philippine diaspora and the Philippine state.  I am interested in two specific issues within political transnationalism: (i) how the state promotes and maintains labor migration ; and (ii) the social and political activity of expatriate Filipinos with respect to Philippine society and politics.  Eventually, I would like to compare the Philippine experience with other states that are heavily reliant on remittances.


Wei Li
wli3@uci.edu
Planning, Policy and Design
Environmental policy, planning, and management; pricing of public goods; economics of natural resources; pollution control and damage assessment; transportation policy and economics; sustainable development in China


Ssu-Fang Liu
ssufangl@uci.edu
East Asian Languages and Literature


Yiing Liu
yiing.liu@uci.edu
East Asian Languages and Literature
Ying focuses on modern and contemporary Chinese literature, cinema, visual and cultural studies, modernity and urban studies. She is interested in exploring the representations of Chinese youth in literature, cinema, pop culture, and mass media to refract the social transformation in China after the 1980's.


Colin Moore 
colinm@uci.edu
Political Science
International Relations, Korea-US relations


Kris Noam 
kzuiderv@uci.edu
Sociology
Immigration and incorporation, second-generation Chinese, cross-national comparison, cultural transmision, child rearing practices, intermarriage ethnic identity.


Graham Odell 
godell@uci.edu
Political Science
China, NE Asia, nationalism, political development, and political identity


Aditya Ramesh
ramesha1@uci.edu
History, South Asia
__________________________________________________________________________________

Karen Robinson
kjrobins@uci.edu
Sociology
Culture, Social Theory, Globalization; South Korea


Xia Shi
shix@uci.edu
History
My concentration is Modern China, particularly 19th-20th century, women's and gender history


Christina Spiker
cspiker@uci.edu
Visual Studies


Jinsuhk Suh
jinsuhks@uci.edu
Planning, Policy, and Design
Dissertation theme is related to environmental issues or policies in South East Asia areas


Beijie Tang 
btang@uci.edu
Political Science


Tiffany Yun-chu Tsai
yunchut@uci.edu
East Asian Languages and Literature
Tiffany focuses on modern and contemporary Taiwanese Fiction. She is interested in gender and sexuality, trauma and memory, and the representation and formation of (post) colonial and immigrant identities and subjectivities. Tiffany is currently working on trauma, haunting mourning in Li Angi's The Visible Ghosts.


Jean Tsui
jean.tsui@uci.edu
East Asian Languages and Literature
Jean focuses on late imperial to early modern China. She is interested in exploring how the rhetoric of love evolved from late Ming to the May Fourth era, what contributed to the rhetorical shift, and how the new rhetoric might have unleashed an expeeriential realm that was essentially foreign, if not potentially subversive, to the traditional socio-emotive paradigm.


Wang Chen-cheng 
chenchew@uci.edu
History
My focus is the influence of political cultures, specifically the organizational cultures on the regimes' political capacities in Modern Chinese history. And how these cultures affected the models and strategies these regimes adopted in the process of political mobilization.


Thomas Worger 
tworger@uci.edu
History
My primary field of research is 20th century China, specifically law in the 1920s and 30s.


Karen Wu
karenw1@uci.edu
Psychology and Social Behavior
I am interested in examining cultural differences in enhancement and verification processes within intimate relationships. For instance, do people prefer that their partners view them more positively than they view themselves, or do they prefer that their partners view them similarly? How might such preferences differ across culture, depending on the perceived nature of attributes?


Yidi Wu
yidiw@uci.edu
History
Concentration in 20th century China, particularly student protests and social movements in the Communist period.


Chuning Xie
xiec1@uci.edu
History
Interest in China as well as Japan


Leah Zani
lzani@uci.edu
Anthropology
Southeast Asia, Buddhism, the Secret War, landmines and rehabilitation technologies


 

© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766